RSS

HandBrake With GUI – Ubuntu

29 Aug

Update 11.25.08: Handbrake 0.93 is out with GUI. You can grab it here.

What is Handbrake?

If you didn’t know, Handbrake is DVD love. HandBrake is a software application that can convert MPEG video (including DVD video) into a MPEG-4 video file in .mp4, .avi, .ogm, or .mkv containers. If you have a large collection of DVDs, you should definitely check out this app.

When you visit the download section of the handbrake site, the first thing you will notice if you are a linux user is that there is no gui readily available for us. The command line is great but I wanted the GUI on my Hardy. So the instructions below will help you get there. Take your time and do not rush. Locate your terminal in applications-accessories and launch it. In the terminal do the following line by line:

  • sudo apt-get remove ffmpeg

Then enter

Then enter

  • sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install medibuntu-keyring && sudo apt-get update

Then enter

  • sudo apt-get install ffmpeg

Now its time for the dependencies and gtk gui

  • sudo apt-get install automake build-essential jam libdvdcss2-dev libtool subversion zlib1g-dev libbz2-dev dvdbackup xmlto texinfo g77 gfortran libgtk2.0-dev nasm doxygen libsdl1.2-dev gfortran-multilib gcc-multilib g++-multilib libesd0-dev libgtk1.2-dev libfftw3-dev electric-fence libx264-dev libx264-57 x264 libtheora-dev intltool gettext libgtk2.0-dev libglib2.0-dev libhal-storage1 libhal-storage-dev libhal-dev

It is at this point that we also install yasm but not the one in the repositories (that one is old). Grab yasm from here and install it before continuing.

Now its time to install and build Handbrake.svn and gtk GUI. The following lines are entered separately. Be patient, this will take time to build, again I say be patient. Also if you have moblocker or something along those lines running, turn it off before going any further:

  • svn co svn://svn.handbrake.fr/HandBrake/trunk HandBrake
  • cd HandBrake
  • ./configure
  • jam
  • cd $HOME/HandBrake/gtk
  • ./autogen.sh
  • make
  • sudo make install

Once you are done, HandBrake should be located in Applications-Sound & Video. Though I’ve been using the command line version, I actually compiled and built it today. Here is a screenshot of my HandBrake:

HandBrake GUI

HandBrake GUI

This could be you! Not sure why we didn’t get the GUI from the getgo but if you want it, follow the steps outline above.

 
51 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2008 in Journaling

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

51 responses to “HandBrake With GUI – Ubuntu

  1. ubun2Junky

    August 30, 2008 at 4:43 AM

    Sweet tutorial. Very nicely done! Would you mind if I take your tutorial and translate it to spanish and post it on my blog? I run a english/spanish ubuntu site with hints and tips. I found this very valuable and I know other people in spanish community will also benefit from it. Please let me know!

     
  2. Andrew Alliance

    August 30, 2008 at 5:21 PM

    Sure. Just trackback if you could. Glad you like the tutorial.

     
  3. mac

    September 7, 2008 at 2:45 AM

    thanks dude, you’re the man

     
  4. KRavEN

    September 7, 2008 at 4:18 AM

    Instructions were flawless. For people running 64bit ubuntu, you can get the 0.7.1 version of yasm here: http://ubuntu2.cica.es/ubuntu/ubuntu/pool/universe/y/yasm/

     
  5. Andrew Alliance

    September 8, 2008 at 2:06 AM

    I’m glad its working out for you guys, enjoy!!!

     
  6. Jbeck

    September 9, 2008 at 4:38 AM

    Just found these instructions and it worked flawlessly. Thanks!!

     
  7. Peter

    September 9, 2008 at 7:10 PM

    Great tutorial. Was using the command line but, being a former windows user, I appreciate GUI’s a lot more. Thanks for the help!

     
  8. Andrew Alliance

    September 9, 2008 at 7:12 PM

    No problem.

     
  9. jared

    September 11, 2008 at 3:00 AM

    still works, thanks!

     
  10. Macboy

    September 11, 2008 at 8:55 AM

    Nice work, I’ve always used OSX for HB due to Windoze making the whole process so difficult. Now I can enjoy Ubuntu once again and actually use my C2Q for something..

     
  11. Andrew

    September 11, 2008 at 2:24 PM

    I saw a need for this via the web couldn’t find it readily available; though it was available and buried in a forum. I would like to thank fenian for this tutorial. I just cleaned it up a little and found a working link for the yasm file. I’m glad that you guys/gals are benefiting from it. I’m glad this blog is serving some kind of purpose especially with this post.

    All the best,

    Andrew

     
  12. vukodlak75

    September 11, 2008 at 7:01 PM

    OK, I got to “# svn co svn://svn.handbrake.fr/HandBrake/trunk HandBrake”

    but it does not do anything. I type this (copy and paste i mean) to terminal, right?

     
  13. vukodlak75

    September 11, 2008 at 7:02 PM

    User problem, sorry. I got it to work. Great tutorial, thanks a bunch.

     
  14. Andrew

    September 11, 2008 at 7:16 PM

    You’re welcome.

     
  15. vukodlak75

    September 11, 2008 at 8:15 PM

    One question:
    Can I delete the Handbrake folder in my “home folder”? I’m assuming Handbrake was put somewhere else on my system and the folder was just used to make/build it.

    Thanks

     
  16. Robbie9

    September 11, 2008 at 11:57 PM

    Patient??? it worked great… took 1/2 hr…. thank you for the guide.. good thing a had a fresh supply of beer…

     
  17. Andrew

    September 12, 2008 at 1:05 AM

    My Pleasure.

     
  18. Andrew

    September 12, 2008 at 1:14 AM

    @ vukodlak75: I left mine. That looks like the main folder but I may be wrong. I left it to be on the safe side.

     
  19. Ande

    September 14, 2008 at 1:54 PM

    Awesome 🙂

    Do you know why the Handbrake crew don´t provide a .deb w/GUI from the website ?

     
  20. Ande

    September 14, 2008 at 2:40 PM

    Oh BTW … Thank You …

    🙂

     
  21. Andrew

    September 15, 2008 at 2:14 AM

    Dunno, but if you do let me know. you’re welcome.

     
  22. freddy

    October 5, 2008 at 2:53 AM

    Thanks a lot…..

     
  23. vukodlak75

    October 12, 2008 at 2:25 PM

    I left mine to. Easy to update:
    svn update
    cd HandBrake
    make
    cd $HOME/HandBrake/gtk
    ./autogen.sh
    make
    sudo make install

    With the new svn, We no longer need to use jam.

     
  24. freddy

    October 15, 2008 at 6:26 PM

    can someone put the list of dependencies for intrepid ibex (8.10) please..

     
  25. freddy

    October 16, 2008 at 3:38 AM

    nevermind, i figure out the dependencies, if anyone is interested:

    sudo apt-get install automake build-essential jam libdvdcss-dev libtool subversion zlib1g-dev libbz2-dev dvdbackup xmlto texinfo gfortran libgtk2.0-dev nasm doxygen libsdl1.2-dev gfortran-multilib gcc-multilib g++-multilib libesd0-dev libgtk1.2-dev libfftw3-dev electric-fence libx264-dev libx264-59 x264 libtheora-dev intltool gettext libgtk2.0-dev libglib2.0-dev libhal-storage1 libhal-storage-dev libhal-dev

     
  26. Chris S

    November 1, 2008 at 4:40 PM

    If you are having this error:
    checking for GHB… configure: error: Package requirements (gtk+-2.0 >= 2.8 gio-2.0 hal hal-storage) were not met:

    No package ‘hal’ found
    No package ‘hal-storage’ found

    add these:

    sudo apt-get install libgtk2.0-dev libglib2.0-dev libhal-storage1 libhal-storage-dev libhal-dev

     
  27. T-Rex

    November 9, 2008 at 7:21 PM

    Thanks freddy, I was missing some of those. Got it working fine now, thanks to that little bit of info. Tool me an hour though… but I’ve never built an app from code before in Linux. Should be quicker next time, I hope.

     
  28. T-Rex

    November 9, 2008 at 7:28 PM

    Oh, but I did have to cd /home/myname/HandBrake and run make from here in order to get it to build.

     
  29. John

    November 12, 2008 at 2:40 AM

    Can you help? I get up to the very last step… sudo make install… and then i get this

    make: *** No rule to make target `install’. Stop.

     
  30. John

    November 12, 2008 at 4:30 PM

    This worked ok for a while now I cannot remove it. Any idea as to how to totally uninstall it

     
  31. John

    November 13, 2008 at 3:00 AM

    I found out what the problem was…. hopefully I can help someone else get through this.

    BTW, the guide is great!

    After running the make command I got this error:
    /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lbz2

    After some googling I found that it actually was referring to libbz2, When I tried to install this package I was told it was out of date and replaced with bzip2. I tried to install this package but soon realized I already had it installed.

    I then fired up Synaptic Package Manger and searced for libbz2, libbz2-1.0 was already installed so I figured I’d try installing libbz2-dev

    I went back to the terminal window where i ran make…. and then make install, this time with no errors.

     
  32. Robert P

    November 18, 2008 at 5:01 AM

    I got this error message too. I’m running gOS3. Any thoughts?

     
  33. Robert P

    November 18, 2008 at 5:02 AM

    By this message I mean

    make: *** No rule to make target `install’. Stop.

     
  34. Freddy

    November 18, 2008 at 1:45 PM

    these are the dependencies for ubuntu 8.10 cli + gtk:

    * subversion
    * jam
    * yasm
    * build-essential
    * autogen
    * autoconf
    * intltool
    * libtool
    * zlib1g-dev
    * libbz2-dev
    * libglib2.0-dev
    * libgtk2.0-dev
    * libhal-dev
    * libhal-storage-dev
    * libgtkhtml3.14-dev

    sudo apt-get install subversion jam yasm build-essential autogen autoconf intltool libtool zlib1g-dev libbz2-dev libglib2.0-dev libgtk2.0-dev libhal-dev libhal-storage-dev libgtkhtml3.14-dev

    also install libdvdcss-dev

     
  35. vukodlak75

    November 23, 2008 at 3:01 AM

    Does anyone know a similar how to for openSUSE 11?

     
  36. vukodlak75

    November 25, 2008 at 12:26 PM

    OK, v0.9.3 has been released and now comes with a GUI for Ubuntu 😀
    _http://handbrake.fr/?article=download

     
  37. Andrew

    November 25, 2008 at 2:53 PM

    Thanks for the info.

     
  38. torbenh

    November 25, 2008 at 7:58 PM

    i’ve just downloaded the gui version for my kubuntu 8.10 and installed it but everytime when i want it to start it quit himself without any message. can anyone help me?

     
  39. vukodlak75

    December 4, 2008 at 11:04 AM

    I think it might only run under Gnome.

     
  40. vukodlak75

    December 4, 2008 at 11:05 AM

    Just confirmed, you’ll need to build it yourself and use the Qt4 GUI option.

     
  41. torbenh

    December 5, 2008 at 7:15 PM

    thanks a lot. has anyone informations about pre compiled rpm packages for mandriva? to compile the source did not work.

     
  42. pimpaulogy

    December 17, 2008 at 8:43 PM

    Installing on Ubuntu 8.10
    Follow instructions all the way.
    Get to
    make
    step and get
    make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.

    I have not idea how to proceed from here. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

     
  43. Andrew

    December 17, 2008 at 9:15 PM

    For 8.10 I would just use the link on the handbrake site.

    http://handbrake.fr/rotation.php?file=HandBrake-0.9.3-Ubuntu_GUI_i386.deb

    I tried that one for 8.04 and it didn’t work, Im gonna remove it and install the one that I have here.

     
  44. Ghanah

    January 30, 2009 at 3:21 PM

    [ubuntu 8.04]

    f followed your good instruction,
    but “make” and “make install” work.

    I get:
    … :/home/HandBrake/gtk$ make
    make: *** Keine Targets angegeben und keine »make«-Steuerdatei gefunden. Schluss.
    … :/home/HandBrake/gtk$ sudo make install
    make: *** Keine Regel, um »install« zu erstellen. Schluss.

    Its German – sorry. If i trie to translate it:
    make: *** No Targets given and no >>make<>install>. Finished

    What did wrong?
    Thanks

     
  45. Dominic

    April 28, 2009 at 2:48 PM

    Hi, This is just what I want. However, I am a Linux noob, and I am running intrepid. Can you tell me what I have to change in your tutorial for it to work with intrepid?

     
    • Dominic

      April 28, 2009 at 2:56 PM

      OK, never mind, I see that they have released a .deb gui install from their website. Thanks anyway! 🙂

       
  46. Andrew

    April 29, 2009 at 1:26 AM

    Sorry it took me a while to reply but I will replay anyhow:
    The deb on their site woks on 8.10 and 9.04 – all dependencies are good to go.

     
  47. Hamid

    November 6, 2009 at 6:39 PM

    I am new to Ubuntu. I am using the latest version, I have done those terminals codes but can you tell me where do i have to run these files?
    * svn co svn://svn.handbrake.fr/HandBrake/trunk HandBrake
    * cd HandBrake
    * ./configure
    * jam
    * cd $HOME/HandBrake/gtk
    * ./autogen.sh
    * make
    * sudo make install

     
  48. da5id

    November 7, 2009 at 11:55 AM

    Hi and thanks a lot for the install tutorial.
    I tried to install it on hardy heron 8.04, but when it comes to “jam” I get the errormessage

    ~/HandBrake$ jam
    Jamfile: No such file or directory
    …found 7 target(s)…

    What can I do here?

     
  49. dominik

    November 20, 2009 at 10:01 PM

    today I have to install aditionally on hardy:
    yasm (http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/universe/y/yasm/yasm_0.8.0-1_i386.deb)
    libgstreamer0.10-dev
    libgstreamer-plugins-base0.10-dev
    libnotify-dev
    libwebkitgtk-dev

     

Leave a Reply

 
