RSS

Yes, I’m Castle Crashing

02 Sep

If you have a 360 and you are not castle crashing then something is wrong with you. Heck, play the demo if you need to and get your mind right! This XBLA release changed my outlook on arcade games via xbox live. Sure, we have Bionic Commando Rearmed which didn’t give me the “I must buy it right away”  feeling but this game was a must. If you do not have the slightest idea of what  I’m talking about, here is a quick summary if you where hibernating the last week:

Castle Crashers is a console video game independently developed by The Behemoth. Announced by The Behemoth during Comic-Con 2006, the game is available for download with the Xbox Live Arcade service, released August 27, 2008, at a price of 1200 Microsoft Points (15USD).

I believe that the 15 bucks is a steal. They should have charged more and they would have gotten it too. But I’m glad they didn’t. The game features 4 player coop via xbox live and local, boat load of weapons, animals that enhance your ability or help you find secret stuff, a lot of combos and much much more.  One of the things I really like about the game is that they did their homework and put cherries from other games in this one for example:

  • In the industrial castle, after you block the multitude of poison balls, you reach that part with the spike ball on the chains (reminds me of contra)
  • The ninjas (on the ship) when you strike them, they disappear and drop a log then they appear from up top to strike you at an angle (reminds me of Hanzo Hattori from Samurai Shodown).

One thing to note is that when this game was released, the players like myself had a tough time getting online to player other folks. Reason being is because they got slammed and they were forced to shut their main site down and their dev blog. They mentioned that this could possibly occur due to network incompatibility issues. The question that I have for those devs is this: Is it your network or mine? I play every other game fine on live. I was just able to get a good game in Monday morning (9.2.08) around 1:30AM EST with 2 of my folks in the Seattle area. I set up a room totaling three players with 2 private slots. We got cut off once and we had a good run while I was chopping some heads off with my flaming sword. Guardian Heroes was one of my favorite games for Saturn and this game is probably the first one that is putting me in a place where if I never saw guardian heroes again; this game is sufficient.

This game gets a 4.99 out of 5. Why? Nothing is perfect and they have some kinks to workout with the network stuff. Once they clear that hurdle you’ll be playing for hours if you haven’t already done so. I’ll attach a video to this soon. Great job goes out to the developers and makers of this fine game. Keep up the great work!

If you have this game and you’re playing it online let me know and send me a friend request. Let me know you got my tag from here so I don’t delete your request. I’ll castle crash with you.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2008 in Journaling

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Yes, I’m Castle Crashing

  1. Free Microsoft Points

    March 20, 2009 at 7:03 PM

    Nice write-up.

     
  2. Andrew

    March 20, 2009 at 7:12 PM

    Thanks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
